Strawberry and Spinach Salad

Summer’s finally arrived in England and I’m making the best use of local British produce this season. Pick your own fields are bursting abound with ripe berries of all sorts, while gardens and allotments are getting a new lease of life everywhere. Ah, summertime is lovely! 

My family and I have been enjoying visiting new places that are local to us this season. Few Sundays ago we went to the gorgeous Malvern halls after worshipping at the great Malvern Priory down at Worcester. Oh what a wonderful day we had! I could have spent the rest of my life upon those hills, if only it remained sunny all year round. We took a picnic and enjoyed a stunning view of the county below us while a gentle breeze kept us cool from the heat. I can’t wait go back again and climb the other hills as well this time. Here’s a pictures of us from the hills 

On to my favourite summertime salad now. Since going back on the diet I’ve been eating more fresh fruit and veg in the past few weeks and have a glowing skin to show for it. Most of it being in the form of a lush Spinach and Strawberry salad. I recently bought a kilo of strawberries on offer at my local supermarket and instead of eating them on its own or drinking them in smoothies, i’ve been pairing them with baby spinach leaves for a change. Oh and what a match they are! With just a few simple ingredients, this salad is ready in minutes and tastes absolutely refreshing and divine. I’ve been eating it almost daily for the past week now and am still not tired of it. 

Here’s the recipe for it

  • Ripe strawberries, about 8 to 10 sliced
  • Few handfuls of baby spinach leaves, torn if desired
  • Slivered almonds and pumpkin seeds, lightly toasted
  • Olive oil and juice of half a lemon

 

Place the spinach in a salad bowl and scatter the strawberries, pumpkin seeds and almond seeds on top. Mix the olive oil and lemon juice and drizzle all over. Give it a good mix and enjoy!

My version of this salad is quite basic but it goes without saying that you can add pretty much any kind of dressing, seeds or nuts you like to the salad. Some recipes call for a dressing of honey and cream or yogurt  which makes it more decadent. I’m keeping things simple since ive gone low cal now but amazingly this salad tastes just as nice without any fancy ingredients. Why not give it a try?

New Fancy Kitchen Gear

Oh and I bought a spiralizer to help me in making more salads for the whole family. I’ve come to the whole spiralizing craze a tad too late, but am so glad to have discovered this really clever tool on the market.

 
It’s a lovely piece of equipment that works like pencil sharpener but for veggies of course. It’s a nice change from eating sliced or grated vegetables in salad and is certainly a hit with my family. Since buying the spiralizer I’ve made quite a few raw noodle salads and stirfrys amongst other recipes and loved it all.

Healthy snacking

I’m learning to snack better these days and found that a bowl of chopped apples with a dollop of Greek yogurt and a smattering of flaxseeds does just the right trick for me. 

 
I bought these really handy milled flaxseeds down at Aldi in my locality and have been sprinkling it practically on everything I eat. It tastes lovely and crunchy with the added Goji berries in it and apparently is easier to digest milled than as whole seeds. 

I feel like I’ve been on a roll the past few weeks eating rather smartly and gaining all of its wonderful benefits. Here’s hoping I can continue eating healthy all through summer without giving into too many ice creams or lollies! Enjoy the sunshine.

Leave a Reply

