Chocolate and Banana Marbled Chiffon Cake

I’m very fond of chiffon cakes and for years was obsessed with perfecting it after coming across it online the first time. Although it’s quite a difficult one to master, it is well worth learning and perfecting the method to making a proper Chiffon cake, cause it’s the lightest and the most spongy cake you’ll ever come across. Not even the divine Angel cake can actually compare to the softness and springiness of the Chiffon cake. Trust me, you really have to try a Chiffon cake for yourself to know what its like!

Like most sponges, the Chiffon cake is also a fatless sponge that relies on whipped egg whites for its light texture. Most recipes call for a bit of oil and milk to lighten the batter and the egg whites are usually whipped with a little cream of tar tar to stabilize its structure while baking in the oven. A chocolate chiffon cake is my go to base for most birthday and Christmas Cakes and I dress it up with any kind of icing I fancy at the time. Here’s a Teddy cake I made using a chocolate chiffon cake as a bar for my son’s 2nd birthday.

Anyway, after making a wonderful chocolate and banana cake last week, i still had a surplus of ripened bananas to use up and I chose this recipe to go with this time, making slight modifications to it. I have always baked my chiffon Cakes in normal cake pans and do not own a bundt pan or angel cake pan or tube pan as it is called in some countries. This time however I made my own bundt pan using a food can weighed down with beans on the inside. I wasn’t quite sure if it would work initially; but I’m happy to inform you that it worked a treat and i didn’t need to go out and spend a fortune on a bundt pan that I might only end up using once in a while.

image

I’m going to spare you the details of the recipe and other minutae that goes into the baking of a good chiffon cake; there are hundreds of videos and blogs dedicated to this cake, mainly by home bakers from south East Asia where the chiffon cake is very popular and made in almost every household.
I would highly recommend Rose Levy Beranbaum’s videos on youtube if you are completely new to Chiffon cakes or baking in general.

 

image

image

 

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My chiffon cake turned out wonderfully moist and soft and most of it was gone with in 20 minutes after I cooled and served it to my son! I’m surely going to be making it more often in the coming days. However, in the heat of the moment I’d completely forgotten to take pictures of the sliced cake! Hopefully I’ll remember to grab my camera on time next time around. Until then, I hope you have a blessed few days ahead as we draw close to good Friday and contemplate the immense and wonderful sacrifice that was paid on our behalf on the cross.

He who did not spare His own Son, but delivered Him up for us all, how shall He not with Him also freely give us all things?

Who shall bring a charge against God’s elect? It is God who justifies.

Who is he who condemns? It is Christ who died, and furthermore is also risen, who is even at the right hand of God, who also makes intercession for us.

Romans 8: 32, 33 & 34

 

Leave a Reply

