Chocolate and Banana loaf cake

Ok I’m still on the diet (umm, sort of) but I needed to celebrate losing 5 kilos! Besides, I’m still cooking regular food for my husband and son who are quite happy not to be on a low carb diet and they need a home baked treat from time to time all for just being there for me. Hence I made this cake for my two champion supporters!

image

This is a real good recipe to use up blackened bananas and dare I say better than the ever popular banana bread recipe. I’ve taken the recipe from here, but the only change I made is that of adding walnuts instead of chocolate chunks.The cake turned out fluffy and rather scrumptious. The taste of the bananas is really subtle and the walnuts add a nice crunchy interlude to the texture. I must add however that being on a strict low carb diet has made me lose my sweet tooth and I was feeling rather full and satisfied after having just a tiny sliver of this cake.Here’s the recipe

CHOCOLATE AND BANANA CAKE

Ingredients

  • 100 ml sunflower oil
  • 175 gr self raising flour
  • 175 gr sugar
  • 1/2 top bicarbonate of soda
  • 4 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 100 gr chopped
  • walnuts
  • 3 ripened bananas (about 175 grams)
  • 3 eggs, 2 separated
  • 50 ml milk

image-3 image-4

 

 

 

image-2METHOD

  1. Sift flour, bicarbonate of soda and cocoa powder together and mix it with sugar and chopped nuts in a large bowl
  2. Mash bananas in another bowl and add the separated yolks, the whole egg, oil and milk to it and mix
  3. Whisk the egg white in another bowl until stiff peaks.
  4. Add the egg,oil and milk mixture to the flour mixture and stir well
  5. Add a third of the word egg whites to the flour and egg yolk mixture and lighten the batter.
  6. Carefully food the remaining egg whites into the bowl and transfer contents into a greased and lined loaf tin and bake at 160 C for 1 hour and 10 minutes

I found a really good use for the garden stakes that I picked up at the pound shop.

DSC_0007

Look what I made with it!

DSC_0023

A tent or a tepee if you will!

Instead of the standard teepee design I basically vent for a pyramid shaped tent as an experiment and it looked really good, so I went with it. I used rough tying techniques with my poles and cord although I suppose if you are bit more patient than I am, you could look up some proper lashing techniques on YouTube to tie your knots. Finally I draped an old stole I had lying around in my wardrobe and Voila, its a tent!

image-5  image-7

My little boy loved playing in it and I thoroughly enjoyed building it for him. No ready pop up play tent can compare with this mummymade-hotchpotch-gardenstake tent!

DSC_0021

 


I’m back on the diet soon after a short intermission mainly because I had a couple of happy occasions to celebrate with my family. I still have another 10 kilos to lose until I reach my goal weight. Being on the diet has helped me greatly so far in the two last weeks. I still have loads of energy, have little to no cravings and have no afternoon energy slump. Although I must say it would be far easier to follow the diet if I didn’t have to cook separately for my family. Nevertheless, I must trudge on and I will update you all on my progress in my next blog post. Hope you all have a blessed weekend.

Food for the stomach and the stomach for the food, but God will destroy them both

1 Corinthians 6:13

Leave a Reply

