On a New Diet!

Yeah, I know. It’s a little too late to be talking about diets in the middle of March. I missed the boat on New Year’s diet resolutions this year due to a period of ill-health (which anyway helped me lose a few pounds. Yay!) but I have a trip to India that I am looking forward to and would really like to fit into those gorgeous salwar kameezes when I’m there. So now is as good a time as any other to take up some healthy eating habits i suppose

Coming from a south Indian background, my Husband, son and I mainly eat a carb rich diet of rice, lentils and meat. In fact 5 days out of 7 we end up eating rice or rice based dishes for lunch and dinner! Plus, I have a massive sweet-tooth and can eat cake or desserts all day!

Unsurprisingly all those carbs have caught up with me now and combined with my post partum weight gain, I’m now at my heaviest weighing around 68 kgs. My goal is to get back to my pre pregnancy weight of 55ish kgs over the next few months without resorting to any crazy diet or exercise routines. So after much research, I settled on the Sugar detox diet and Jorge Cruise’s Belly Fat Cure to help me through. I was lucky enough to find both the books in my local library and have pored over it the last few day

image

 

The lowdown on the diets!

What both of the diets suggests is to start out by cutting out all sugar, dairy and starch-rich foods initially (like Atkins, but not as stringent) and slowly reintroducing healthier carbs in phases over the next few weeks. This is a major change for me cause I practically live on rice (and everything that is sweet!); but I can safely say that after being on the diet for two days now, I’ve been coping rather well so far and not missing my rice or sweet stuff as much as I thought. The reasoning behind these diets is that sugar, even the hidden sugar including aspartame and other sweeteners in most foods is the real cause of weight gain all over the world. So by eliminating intake of sugar and other simple carbohydrates for a few days, our bodies get a chance to tap into all the stored fat cells for energy, instead of all the ready supply of insulin from the sugar and carbs we tend to eat on a daily basis. Both the diets have a list of approved low carb foods you have to adhere to, and some of it are rather filling and somewhat indulgent options I should add. So there is no way you will feel hunger pangs or have rumbling stomachs through the course of this diet. Plus it doesn’t involve any calorie counting as with most other popular diets, which is a rather big bonus! I am mostly eating a breakfast of eggs in the mornings, chicken and salad for lunch and sautéed crunchy vegetables for dinner. For snacking, I have a handful of nuts and sip on green tea all day. I feel quite satisfied with what I eat and have not felt any hunger so far; although i have cravings, I am not lacking in energy and don’t feel sluggish during noon times either.

Purportedly, it is possible to lose up to 7 kgs in the first two weeks of the diet! Let’s see just how much I can manage to lose. I’ll keep updating every week and hopefully I wont have caved in and eaten a cake or two!

A couple of snaps of what I’ve been munching on lately

Breakfast, Fried egg with avocado and spiced mushrooms
Breakfast, Fried egg with avocado and spiced mushrooms
Spiced omelette with sauteed mushrooms and peppers
Spiced omelette with sauteed mushrooms and peppers
Baked Chicken with cucumber and avocado
Baked Chicken with cucumber and avocado

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


John 6:27

Do not work for food that spoils, but for food that endures to eternal life, which the Son of Man will give you. For on him God the Father has placed his seal of approval.

Leave a Reply

