My Very First Homemade Lasagna!

photo-15There is a first time for everything they say. And so it was with me when I nervously made my first Lasagna! But first a tidbit about me! I hate cheese.

Yes i absolutely hate cheese. Any cheese. All cheese. I cant tell if its the smell or the texture of the cheese, but i just dont like it. By far, the only cheese i can barely handle is a bit of cow’s milk mozzarella. (i’d even pick out the mozzarella from my pizza if i find there’s too much) Anyhoo, my husband recently told me how impressed he was that i was finally started cooking with cheese, following our son’s arrival. Observing my little boy as he’s developing his tastes and food preferences, has got me worried about passing on my food fears and avoidances to him. So I’ve resolved to consciously try using food groups that i have avoided so far, for my little one’s sake. And I decided to start with this simple vegetarian lasagna, using scaled down measures of ingredients to fit a small loaf pan for my family of three. Here’s the recipe for it.

image

Ingredients

image-2

  • 1 large onion, sliced
  • 6 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 300g frozen broad beans
  • 250 g mushrooms, sliced
  • Finely chopped mint, about a handful
  • 300 ml of single cream
  • 200 gr mozzarella or more if you like it cheesier. Parmesan or cheddar works well too
  • 5 lasagne sheets
  • Tbsp of dried italian seasoning
  • Oil
  • Salt and pepper for seasoning

Method

  • image-3Saute the onions and mushrooms in a bit of oil and set aside
  • Add broad beans and cook until done. Mash it a little for some texture
  • Add the ginger, salt, pepper and seasoning and check for taste. Add mushroom and onion to the beans and simmer
  • Now just layer a greased loaf pan, starting with an initial layer of vegetable mixture followed by a sprinkling of cheese, topping it with image-4cooked lasagna sheet and repeat the process. The last layer should be any remaining vegetable mixture topped off with cheese
  • Bake in a preheated oven at 200 C for 45 minutes or until the top is browned

 

And here’s a picture of my little son helping me make some fried rice

image-5

Leave a Reply

