Where’s January gone?!

Phew! What a month! I’ve had a tiring, exciting, fun, and a slightly blue January to kick off the new year with. I kept myself fairly busy visiting friends for some momentous kiddy birthday parties and doing some satisfying craft work through the harsh winter months.

Here’s what I’ve been upto

I can finally knit!
IMG-20150211-00774

After trying and giving up knitting a few times previously, I decided to give it one last try. A dear old lady from my church gave my son a beautifully knit stuffed doll a few months ago. Quite impressed at her knitting skills I asked her if she’d be willing to teach me to knit. She kindly invited me and my little boy over to her little flat and in just a matter a 2 hours, taught me the very basics and I knit a few crooked rows for the very first time under her tutelage. Just as I was feeling more confident, I came home and tried out what she’d taught me and I couldn’t get it right for the life of me! This frustration was primarily the reason why I’d previously given up on knitting. I decided to soldier on and tried a few more times quite unsuccessfully and eventually after what seemed like a whole evening of failed attempts, I finally got it! The trouble I had was in the way I held the needles and the yarn. Although I’m not quite an expert right now, I have greatly improved and am very pleased with my progress. Here’s the piece I am still practicing.

I got a sewing machine!
IMG_4002[1]
I bought a sewing maching from Hobby Craft for myself as a christmas present  and although it is a mini one, I have managed to sew a pair of cushion covers with it already. I am also in the process of resizing a larger dress I bought in the clearance sales. Will post a tutorial on it soon hopefully

I’m learning the art of Macrame!IMG-20150208-00773

If you haven’t already heard about it, Macrame is all the rage now! Its an ancient art of thread and cord knotting that produces really delicate-looking and elegant jewelry and other decorative items. I saw a few videos on youtube and have been hooked ever since. This is the current project I am working on. Its a snake necklace with beads. I have just started the project and hoping to finish it in a week’s time. Here’s the tutorial link for it on youtube

Sigh!!!

Despite all this crafting and dealing with life in general, I had a few weeks in January when life was just plain blue. Quite unexpectedly, the depression bug had hit me quite hard and and at its worst I remember not wanting life to continue. A trip to the Doctor’s revealed to me that the Ol’ hormones are in a bit of a funk after going through childbirth. Not surprised at all, I must say! I’ve always known childbirth would be quite life-altering, literally. And as if the hormones hadn’t caused me enough grief my tonsils and my sinuses decided to act along as well! Cue, more trips to the Doctor.

Suffice to say, my recovery from it all has been rather slow and painful, but nevertheless I’ve come out of it all somewhat alive. I’ve devised for myself a contingency plan for the month of February and the rest of the year to stay Flu-free and relatively sane; Multivitamins and  Vitamin C supplements to boost my immunity and St John’s Wort and Evening Primrose oil with a side of running/aerobic activity for the rocky hormonal days! Here’s hoping the rest of the year wont be as haywire as the month of January!

Stay blessed
Sharmila

And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

2 Corinthians 12:9,10

Leave a Reply

